Unbearably Light
I do not think that word means what you think it means.

A Fitting Tribute

tn2_heath_ledger_1.jpg

“..one of the humblest people I have ever met. Unaffected. Warm. Genuine. He listened when people spoke, watched intently, and had the most positive, serene energy. I am blessed to have worked with him in his short life, and it is a tragedy he didn’t get to continue on making incredible films and inspiring us all.” 

Like a lot of people I’ve been talking to over the last couple of days, I’ve surprised myself quite a bit about how much the death of someone I’ve never met, and who really wasn’t on my radar a lot while he was alive, has got to me.  I don’t have a great amount of time for the whole Diana shared cathartic grief thing, and generally I react to the death of celebrities the same way as I react to the deaths we hear about every day on the news, i.e. empathising obviously, but with a natural detachment.

I don’t really know what it is about Heath Ledger that has hit a nerve with myself and so many others. I suspect it had a lot to do with how rare his personality seemed to be compared with most of the rest of his peers in that made up place that is “Hollywood”.  He came across as self effacing, gracious, and just a genuinely nice,  personable guy.  The kind of guy you could probably count on not to disappoint you in the way many celebrities have a tendency to do when you meet them in person.

Predictably there is a load of tabloid crap floating around the net, and I won’t even go near the ridiculousness of this, but I just came across this on Pajjiba, and thought it was a lovely tribute from someone who worked briefly with Heath.

His poor little girl.  It’s just so sad.  Rest in Peace.

3 Responses to “A Fitting Tribute”

  1. I know exactly what you mean. It’s strange but his death does seem to have had a remarkable effect on a lot of people, and probably because he was such a nice down to earth guy and not typically ‘Hollywood’.

  2. It’s interesting guys. This seems to be affecting so many people, even those who weren’t really “fans”. Maybe it’s the seemingly nice guy, young kid, talented, bottle of pills by his side…

    See the NY Times interview with him? Sad. And sort of prescient.

    http://www.nytimes.com/2007/11/04/movies/moviesspecial/04lyal.html?_r=1&oref=slogin

  3. Thanks for that link Rick, very interesting article – a real sense of foreboding somehow, obviously that’s with hindsight.

    Such a waste. Sigh.


Leave a Reply

