Unbearably Light
I do not think that word means what you think it means.

Freeze. Cringe. Sigh.

Jesus I’m doing a great aul line in cringeworthy misunderstandings lately.  Mostly by saying things that are completely benign in my head but somehow in the journey between there and the other persons head develop into monstrosities said person is liable to get all stabby stabby about.

The phrase “I didn’t mean it that way!” needs to be printed on a t-shirt, with a big picture of me, looking all rabbit in headlights on the back.

Things like this shouldn’t happen to people like my dear self who OBSESS about EVERYTHING.

I still wake up in the middle of the night in a cold sweat after thinking about the time when I was sixteen and accidentally stuttered over something in the presence of a girl in my class who had a lisp, causing her to think I was being all mean and making fun of her.  I keep bumping into her and it’s always the first thing to come into my head.

Cry.  Anyone like to offer up stories of their own foot in mouth experiences to make me feel better?  Go on, it’ll be cathartic.

In other news, the following little bunny boiler falls into the category of people who scare me and therefore are suddenly way hawt.  Yep, easy knowing the reason for my relatively disastrous track record.

Oh yeah, plus? Valentine’s Day is my new favourite hatred.  It’s all puppies and kittens around here! Yes indeed.

6 Responses to “Freeze. Cringe. Sigh.”

  1. A few weeks ago I was getting a lift home from the cinema. A friend of a friend was doing the driving and we needed to stop for the petrol. Without thinking, I tried to do the gentlemanly thing and charmingly asked her

    “Would you like me to fill you up?”

    Everyone burst themselves laughing and it still took me a few seconds before I copped on.

  2. Hahaha… if your friends are anything like mine you will still be reminded about that when you are 85.

    About 8 years ago I was in the now departed fireworks nightclub in Dublin – it was originally a fire station – and I very innocently said something along the lines of wanting to go down a fireman’s pole. I know, I know…Similarly it took me ages to realise what the hell they were all laughing about. The last time that was brought up was about, oh, 3 days ago.

  3. Oh Dear GOD! this makes my scared…

    it’s not something i’ve mis-said, or the intention was wrong, but it makes me think of my worst ever most embarrassing thing, i’m sure there’ll be more in the future, but it involved, my car, a hangover and a beautiful flower bed.

    Oh God!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  4. Ah many apologies if I have encouraged any feelings of cringe in retrospect!

    Hmm actually, not really – bring on more stories of crushing embarrassment!

  5. Oh God, oh God, i had forgotten again, until this minute.

  6. Hah, I have many MANY stories where I have said the wrong thing and look like a big meanie. Crrrrringe.

    My Valentines Day was a pile of poo too. stoopid pressure to be all rosemantic.


Leave a Reply

