Unbearably Light
I do not think that word means what you think it means.

Back to School Post 2: The Meme Continues

First part here.

25. Take my advice, never: develop an addiction to the Olympics. You’ll find yourself watching handball at 3am while searching the internet to find out how many more times Yelena Isinbayeva has to break the world Pole Vault record before she catches up with Sergey Bubka. And then you’ll get caught up in the BMX racing before deciding you have to know the difference between the different boats in the sailing (and try and figure out how to pronounce “Yngling”, finally relying on the Guardian for the answer). Then. THEN. Suddenly! THREE Irish boxers are up to their belts in medals, which means you have to find out all about them OBVIOUSLY.

Top five Olympic sports graded by my fascination in them.

5. Diving – This is obvious. They could hit their head, or do a bellyflop at any moment. I need to be there on the couch to see these events live.

4. Pole Vault – Isinbayeva is obviously fabulous, with all the talking to herself and jumping up and down and pure talent but also there is the drama of the silver medal winning American’s coach eating the head off her. Because she only won a silver. I LOVE Olympic drama.

3. Gymnastics – More drama. And little people. Who doesn’t like little people? Especially ones who can do death-defying one and a half turn back swing up and down and around the corner catchev let go and run away twirly things.

2. Swimming until you die race. The long one, where you have to eat and drink along the way.

1. Boxing. OBVIOUSLY. GO..eh..what are there names again? I wish John-Joe Joyce was still in. That name deserves a medal.

Ok. Yeah. Don’t watch the Olympics if you want a life. God maybe I’ll actually go to the London one. But then….you can’t watch Michael Phelps beat a virtual world record line when you’re actually there…hmm telly’s better.

26. My ideal breakfast is: Bagel. Cream Cheese. Bacon. Tea. Pineapple.

27. A song I love but do not have is: a really obscure version of the song “Ms Otis Regrets”. I don’t have it because I get extremely emotional listening to it. It was a favourite song of someone close to me and it brings me immediately back to the day of his funeral.

28. If you visit my hometown, I suggest you: climb Knocknarea Hill Mountain on your own early on a bright clear morning and let the view from the top and the peaceful solitude take your breath away.

You will most likely end up in Toff’s nightclub at some point, try not to judge the county too much afterwards.

29. Why won’t people: stop willingly paying exorbitant prices for all manner of shite in this country? I include myself here. It is a self question.

30. If you spend a night at my house: You probably won’t sleep at first. The noise of traffic on the quays takes a little bit of getting used to. You do eventually though…when I go home home (weshtwards) I miss the traffic and get woken up by the birds outside the window.

31. I’d stop my wedding for: a while until I had a chance to get legally married in my own country.

32. The world could do without: the human race. It’d be much better off. Cockroaches would be thankful for a start.

33. I’d rather lick the belly of a cockroach than: the balls of a rat.

34. My favourite blonde(s) is/are: the little man and sindy. Not barbie, sindy.

35. Paper clips are more useful than: the tip of a pen for resetting my ancient creative mp3 player when it hangs AGAIN .

36. If I do anything well it’s: analyse absolutely everything to death.

37. I can’t help but: wonder what life would be like without the Internet. And if it would be better. I know. Sacrilege.

38. I usually cry: when other people cry. Sometimes this can turn out to be quite inappropriate but I can’t help it. On plenty of occasions, randomers I hardly know might be leaving work and get a touch emotional at their little farewell presentation. Cue me blinking and looking manic. Cringe. I’ve developed a phobia about leaving presentations. Except my own, in the last place. I wasn’t a bit emotional. It’s only a job people.

39. My advice to my child/nephew/niece: would be to find someone you trust and talk to them about the things you are worried about. Even if that thing you’re worrried about is something like global warming and they can’t realistically help, it will feel better to talk about it.

40. And by the way: rules are meant to be broken.

Ok. Done. (In my head I said that in a Gordon Ramsey fashion). This thing is too long and annoying to force anyone into by tagging them. But you might be bored so please do it if you like and let me know your answers. Mmm Memes.

One Response to “Back to School Post 2: The Meme Continues”

  1. […] only did she have me in tears when she sang “Ms Otis Regrets” beautifully (there is a reason for this, I don’t generally cry randomly at gigs) but her own songs are fantastic too. The […]


Leave a Reply

